ALABAMA GUN LAWS
Like Tennessee, Alabama does not require an individual to have a permit to purchase a gun. But to apply for a permit an applicant must be an Alabama resident and 18 years of age. There are no training requirements.
Even though an applicant must be 18 years of age for a permit/license, in September 2015 a law was passed that allows a minor to carry a pistol (with the permission of a parent or legal guardian who is permitted to carry a weapon) for use in a firearm or hunter safety course or firing range; for organized competition with a non-profit group; or for hunting where permitted with a parent or guardian; in Armed Services or National Armed; and in self-defense at own residence,
You must be an Alabama resident to obtain a permit/license, however Alabama honors all other states permit/licenses.
Reciprocity for licenses issued in other states.
(a) A person licensed to carry a handgun in any state shall be authorized to carry a handgun in this state. This section shall apply to a license holder from another state only while the license holder is not a resident of this state. A license holder from another state shall carry the handgun in compliance with the laws of this state.
Open carry is generally permitted, but a handgun must be securely contained in a holster (belt, ankle or shoulder). HOWEVER, open carry in a vehicle without a concealed carry license is prohibited.
In September 2015, Alabama tightened their laws allowing mentally ill people to buy guns. Probate judges must now report to law enforcement every person they involuntarily commit for mental illness. (A person who has lost the right to obtain a firearm for mental health reasons under the new law can appeal and have that right reinstated.) Judges must now report to law enforcement anyone found not guilty for mental disease or defect.
As a final note, the only firearms known to be prohibited are those disguised as walking canes.